ogloading.blogg.se

Best mic for recording bass guitar
Best mic for recording bass guitar













It’s true that much of the sound in the resonant cavity of the bass makes its exit through the f-holes, but for recording purposes little of it is usable. Not all musicians have evolved their tone to such a mature level, so it’s our job to make it sound like they have. Part of this is due to recording technique, and part is due to the players and instruments themselves. Like my roommate there are of course many who aren’t guilty of “boomy” bass, though I do see and hear it with alarming frequency. The bass was truly another voice in the ensemble, rather than an endless low-frequency rumble that varied in pitch with the chord changes, and I had to capture that. When we recorded his trio I soon discovered that his tonality really supported the music in a beautiful way. Being very particular about his tone, he had experimented with every kind of string available, and refined his technique greatly to produce what I thought was one of the most clear and articulate bass sounds at the school.

best mic for recording bass guitar

My first roommate in college, a jazz bass player, was the first to open my eyes to bass sounds. Think about what sound supports the style, and most importantly talk to the musician: he or she can often describe exactly what sound will best drive the music. Warmth and fullness in the lower octaves might be of importance to one player, articulation and clarity taking precedence with another. I'm going to still use the direct in for the bass, but I thought I could get some cool sounds by mic'ing it too.As a result, for recording, we are often challenged with many different bass sounds for many types of music. This just leaves the bass guitar and drum. I've also heard these mics can be good for overheads:įor what I will use them for do you think I should stick with the MXL 603's? I could use two mlx 603's for overheads on the drums and I even heard the 603's are alright at accustic stuff. If I got two SM57's I could use them for stero electric guitar recording and also for the snare and toms on the trap kit.

best mic for recording bass guitar

So the mics I've been think of and hearing about are the SM57 & MLX 603. I want to get a mics for drums, bass, guitar, and perhaps accustic steel string guitar. Right now I've got a beta58a and samson s11 so I don't need a vocal mic just yet.















Best mic for recording bass guitar